Summer Slump

Even though here in California we don’t have typical fall weather, it’s still my favorite season. I hate the heat, I don’t do well in it. I also hate the summer slump. If you don’t know what that is, you probably don’t own a handmade business.

The summer slump is all of late spring to early fall. It happens because people are spending more money on travel and family vacations, and less money on gift giving, buying things for their homes, etc. For some people, holiday gift shopping starts early, but for most it doesn’t start until late fall. This time of year is when handmade businesses start gearing up for more sales. Craft fairs and art shows occur more frequently and more people attend them.

I’m looking forward to fall Art Walks more, especially now that I know I shouldn’t do them in the summer because of my inability to cope with setting up in the heat. I’ll be signing up for the November and December Riverside Arts Walk (first Thursdays), as well as the November Ontario Arts Walk (19th), where I will be live painting for the first time.

I hope to see you there!

Rebecca

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

