Arizona

Last weekend I  hitched a ride with my brother to Arizona. His family lives out there, but temporarily, he works out here. So every Friday he makes the trek back home. From my house in Riverside, it only took about 5 hours, including 3 stops. It wasn’t a bad drive at all! However I can’t imagine doing it every weekend.

I’m so happy that I was able to go and see my nephews, as well as my sister in law, Patty. I’ve missed them all a lot. It’s definitely weird having my family spread out all over the place now.

Friday night we went to their favorite Chinese restaurant for dinner. It was so good! I love hole in the wall places like that, but so often we go to familiar places, like Panda Express, which is pretty generic, although still pretty good. After dinner Patty and Andrew took Ciaran to an event at school and I stayed at home with Jameson. It was nice getting a little one on one time with him.

My brother was nice enough to warn me about the scorpions, which I hadn’t really thought of when agreeing to go on the trip. It totally freaked me out and I spent that night restless, nightmare after nightmare waking me. It’s no fun waking up because of a dream about a giant scorpion sleeping in bed with you! :/

Saturday morning Patty made breakfast. Home made hash browns (From actual potatoes!), eggs, and bread cheese, yum! After breakfast we took my nephews to the pool. Jameson, the younger of the two, was not loving the water at first, but after a while he finally let himself enjoy it. We floated around in the pool for a while, enjoying the sun and the unseasonable warmth (Even for Arizona).

A few hours later we all got ready and went out. Patty took the boys over to a friends house, while my brother and I went to a game night (A group they are part of) and played some card and board games. I usually don’t pick up the rules of games very quickly, unless they’re simple, so I kept trying to back out of playing games. After a while everyone would convince me, so I ended up playing 4 different games that night and having so much fun! It was really nice to just relax and hang out. I met a really great group of people and it was so low pressure, which was really nice for my anxiety.

On the way home, Andrew and I picked up a few six packs of beer from a local brewery, San Tan, which were both really good! Patty, Andrew, and I hung out and watched The Guild and each had a beer before we ended the night.

Sunday, unfortunately, I woke up feeling terrible. I spent my last day out there pretty much laying around doing nothing. I didn’t even change out of my pajamas. It was terrible 😦

Patty loves to cook so she was nice enough to make fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and green beans (Which I rarely get to have, because Eric is allergic). It was a great end to a rough day. We also watched a really funny Korean movie called Miss Granny.

Monday morning we woke up bright and early (5am) to head back to California. It wasn’t a bad drive, again, but I still wasn’t feeling well, so it was really nice to finally get home.

I’m so glad I got to go! It was nice to see where they’re living and spend some time just hanging around with my nephews. They’re growing up so fast! I can still remember when my oldest nephew was born, and now he’s almost 9!! EEK! I didn’t get a whole lot of photos, but here’s the 2 I did get.

Jameson was too quick and kept dodging out of the shot as soon as I would snap the pic! And Ciaran and I spent some time drawing together on Sunday when I wasn’t feeling well.

Hopefully next time, Eric can go with me, to protect me from the scorpions 😛

Thanks for stopping by!

Rebecca

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

