Comparison is the Death of Joy

“Comparison is the death of joy” — Mark Twain

Ain’t that the truth? I’ve found myself comparing a lot these days. Comparing my work to others. Comparing my success to their success. Comparing how happy I feel to how happy they SEEM to feel. It’s really the worst.

In a world where social media dominates, it’s extremely hard to not compare yourself to others. I have to spend a lot of time online, as I’m trying to get my name, and more importantly my art, out into the world. Most of that time spent online, is on Instagram. It’s extremely hard to capture a true glimpse of someone’s world through just a photo. Photos are easily staged. We see what they want us to see, and vice versa. We are all guilty of the staged photo. Whether it’s something as simple as taking a photo of the meal in front of us or a selfie, to photos of our homes, our cars, our LIVES. It’s all so staged.

IMG_20150606_194026IMG_20140806_093425

I for one am trying to loosen up a little on Instagram. I’m trying to “talk” like myself instead of just posting what I feel others will be interested in reading. But that’s not always the best way to gain a following.

But I find myself wondering often, “Do I WANT a following?” Well of course, I want my art out there, but I don’t always want ME out there. I don’t like feeling judged because I didn’t get enough likes. I don’t like feeling as though people don’t truly like the art I’ve posted, because they didn’t comment. When did we make these things so important? What happened to sharing something because WE love it, instead of sharing with the hope that others will love it?

I’m sick of feeling that what is really happening in my life on a day to day basis, isn’t good enough for social media. So, next week I’m going to have a post dedicated to what my life REALLY looks like. I’m going to post photos of what my home looks like, without the panicked “someone is coming over” clean-up, as well as photos of the not-so-pretty process of making art.

I personally want to get back to a place where I’m happy with what I have and what I have accomplished. I hope that you’ll join me in this journey back to being real.

Hoping your week starts out on a good note!

Rebecca

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

One thought on “Comparison is the Death of Joy

  1. Lacy

    All the world’s a stage – so true. I call the Instagram Effect the ‘highlight reel’ of our lives. Enough said.

    I personally choose not to ‘like’ anyone’s photos to protect people’s privacy. If I like the picture, someone following me can see that and maybe the owner of the original photo doesn’t want that particular person seeing their photos.

    It seems like tapping to like a photo has just become habitual. Do you REALLY like that photo or are you just tapping out of habbit because you ‘looked’ at it? Has your ‘like’ turned into ‘looked?’ How about writing a nice note instead of just tapping a heart?

    Like

Leave a Reply

