How to Upcycle a Cheap Faux Leather Cuff

A few weeks ago I was spending some leisure time in Hobby Lobby, one of my favorite craft stores, browsing pretty much every single aisle. I happened upon a section of clearance jewelry and found these 2 green faux leather cuffs

123

I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with them, but at $1.80 I felt I couldn’t pass them up. I knew I would be able to make something nice out of them!

After a bit of browsing Pinterest, I noticed that leather cuffs are really hot right now, especially in Metallic Neutrals. Yes neutrals, as in Gold, Silver, and Bronze, because those 3 colors can pretty much go with any outfit!

1915

So today I’m going to break it down into easy steps, how to turn a cheap faux leather cuff into a statement making piece of jewelry!

What you will need:

Cheap Faux Leather Cuff (any color, but try to keep it light so it’s easier to paint)

Cutting Mat or Board

Easily removeable tape (I used Washi Tape)

X-Acto Knife or similar for precise cut

Ruler

Acrylic Paint in a metallic shade and Paint Brush

Surface to paint on, such as wax paper or plastic bag

Step One: Measure Slits

First you’re going to measure how far apart you want to cut slits. Mark on the backside of the cuff. I varied mine. The first 2 slits on either side are 1/8″ apart, and the 3 center slits are 1/4″ apart. I wanted the look to be a little more rocker, a little less fashionista. ย After measuring, carefully cut your slits using the edge of your ruler as a guide. In my case, I have a cutting board that I was able to use, but a ruler works just as well.
56

Your Cuff should now look like this –

78

Step Two: Coverย Metal

Take your tape and cover all metal pieces so that you don’t cover them in paint. I used Washi Tape because it peels off super easily. Use a little extra and then cut away the excess. It doesn’t have to be exact.

91011

Step Three: Paint!

Make sure you put down your wax paper or plastic bag because this can be messy. You will get paint on your hands as well! You’re going to do a few layers, so make sure to let it dry between coats. You’ll also want to open up the slits and paint a bit in there as well, especially if the inside is white fabric, like mine was.

13

I did 3 layers, and each layer I did was thicker than the last. Don’t be afraid to let the original color show through a little, it adds to the uniqueness of your Cuff!

1412

Step Four: Admire the Finished Product!

I love how mine turned out, with just a hint of green tint to the gold. Green is, after all, my favorite color ๐Ÿ™‚

16
1718

As always, I’d love to hear your feedback! Leave me a comment or shoot me an email

Rebecca_Steen@yahoo.com

Hope everyone has a great week!

Rebecca

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

Leave a Reply

